Argentina – Week 43

Dear Family,

This cyber has a broken USB port, so sorry for the lack of pics… This week has been wonderful! I absolutely love my new companion! He is very willing to do his part, and he is learning extremely quickly. He already speaks very understandable spanish, and he learned in about a week! (Gift of tongues is real, people). It´s amazing to talk with people in the street and watch them wonder as they realize that he has been here for barely 2 weeks and didn´t even have any prior training apart from the MTC. I know without a doubt that when we are prepared, and do all our part, the Lord blesses us.

This week we had the trial of very tough weather, and it was hard to find people in the street. Nonetheless, I felt joy as we walked together in the freezing rain and crazy wind. I thought in the scripture in Phillipians: 29 For unto you it is given in the behalf of Christ, not only to believe on him, but also to suffer for his sake;

I know that Christ suffered and died for us. Our call is to suffer our afflictions with joy and know that the hope of eternal life is real.

I was studying this week about the watches of Jesus´s time. There were 4 watches for the Romans during the night. 6-9, 9-12, 12-3, and 3-6. Sunset to sunrise, all the night. When Christ appeared to his disciples walking on the water, they had been struggling all night, and he appeared during the fourth watch. In Doctrine and Covenants 33 it says that, ” 2 For verily, verily, I say unto you that ye are called to lift up your voices as with the sound of a trump, to declare my gospel unto a crooked and perverse generation.

3 For behold, the field is white already to harvest; and it is the eleventh hour (fourth watch), and the last time that I shall call laborers into my vineyard.

Wherefore, be faithful, praying always, having your lamps trimmed and burning, and oil with you, that you may beready at the coming of the Bridegroom

18 For behold, verily, verily, I say unto you, that I come quickly.Even so. Amen.

I know He is coming quickly, and my calling is to prepare the way. OUR calling is to prepare the way. I love the Savior, and I know this is his work. LOVE YOU ALL SO MUCH! Keep being the amazing people you are. Next week I promise more details and pics!

Love,
Elder Hoffman

Leave a Reply

