Argentina – Week 62

Happy New Years, family!!

This week has been a good one. The Ibarra family invited us for New Years dinner, and we ate HOME MADE empanadas. They made the dough, the filling, and fried them outside over a wood fire. Delicious. Here the main foods for the Christmas/New Years season are: asado, asado, asado, pan dulce, fruit salad, peanut turrón, mantecol (peanut butter paste bar, delicious), pionono, asado, asado, and lechón (asado). We´ve eaten a ton, a think I´ve gone up like 10 pounds again in this week alone! haha. We got to eat with Maria, our investigator. She´s super awesome, pray a lot for her because she had a hard time over the christmas season thinking about all her loved ones who have passed away. She´s basically the last one of her family.

I love new years as a missionary, because it helps me to remember the important things. I found three scriptures that I loved for the new year that talk about new beginnings and achieving goals:

Phillippians 3:13-14: Brethren, I count not myself to have apprehended: but this one thing I do, forgetting those things which are behind, and reaching forth unto those things which are before, I press toward the mark (goal) for the prize of the high calling of God in Christ Jesus.

Forget that which is behind and press toward the mark to reach the prize!

Isaiah 43: 18-19 Remember ye not the former things, neither consider the things of old. Behold, I will do a new thing; now it shall spring forth; shall ye not know it? I will even make a way in the wilderness, and rivers in the desert.

Make ways in the wilderness, don´t consider the things of old!

Mosaih 4:27 And see that all these things are done in wisdom and order; for it is not requisite that a man should run faster than he has strength. And again, it is expedient that he should be diligent, that thereby he might win the prize; therefore, all things must be done in order.

To win the prize, be diligent and do the things in wisdom and order, it´s not necessary for us to run faster than we have strength.

My times up, but pray for Elías, Juan, María, and that we can find familias!

I testify that God lives and loves us, and his love is infinite. I know that He sent His son so that we could have the possibility to CHANGE. That is the atonemente of Jesus Christ, change. The possiblity to leave the past, be clean, and change until we become whole and perfect like He is. I know that it´s possible, I see it every day in my own life and in the life of so many that we teach and help. Don´t waste His sacrifice… change. (: I love you all so much, thank you so much for the pictures, letters, everything you do to support me. I love you all a million!

Elder Hoffman

Share the gift by singing!

IMG_0464 IMG_0462 IMG_0463

Dinner with Maria, our investigador, her friend and grandaughter, and hno liquin. The christmas tree of our department complex, someone put the pic of jesus there (;

IMG_0472 IMG_0467 IMG_0470

Happy new years dinner! There was a ton of noise at 12 at night, it was like world war 3

IMG_0459 IMG_0476

Leave a Reply

