Argentina – Week 87

Well, dearest family, it´s been a very interesting week in the grand Argentina Bahía Blanca mission.

After a wonderful week with lots of amazing lessons and people that we´ve been teaching, the zone leaders called Saturday night with emergency transfers. I´m going back to Viedma with Elder Tucker! Haha, I sure wasn´t expecting it, but I´m super excited. There are so many people there that I was so sad to leave and many who I didn´t get to say goodbye to, and many more that I wanted to help continue progressing. Now I´m super excited for the opportunity to have two weeks there to bring souls to Christ! They were a lot of emergency transfers because this week there is a leadership conference, so President released all the leaders who are going home in two weeks to call new leaders so that the new Presidente can start off with a clean slate and train the new leaders. I´m sad that I had to leave Bolívar, because I truly love that place and those people and my amazing companion Elder Hermosilla, but I feel that it´ll be great to see old friends again.

Right now I´m in the bus station of Bahía Blanca with Elder White. President and Sister Cifuentes, the new president and his wife, get here on Tuesday, and early Wednesday morning my Spanish parents head home to Elche after 3 years of missionary service.

More than anything, I feel gratitude. Deep, deep gratitude. Elder White´s headed of to Santa Rosa for two weeks, and last night as I was talking with him and Elder Watts, it became so real that two whole years have come and gone as a messenger of the gospel of Jesus Christ. Being a missionary has changed my life forever, and I will never be able to fully thank God for being so merciful as to allow me to experience His love and see the miracle of change in the lives of the people who accept Him and His Son, and who truly begin to live His gospel. As I´m finishing the book of mormon again, I came across a scripture that I had almost forgotten about in 3 Nephi, the words of the great prophet, Mormon:

“Behold, I am a disciple of Jesus Christ, the Son of God. I have been called of him to declare his word among his people, that they might have everlasting life.”

I too a disciple of Jesus Christ, the Song of God, and have been called by him to declare his word among his people, that they might have everlasting life. We preach the gospel for that reason, so that the sons and daughters of our Heavenly Father might come to the knowledge of their Redeemer and be saved by Him.

I am so grateful to have this calling, and I will cherish every second of every day that I have left. I´m excited to go back to Viedma where I know the area and the people, it´ll be easy to focus in just preaching the gospel and inviting people to come unto Christ.

I´m grateful for goodly parents who taught me what source I should look to for the remission of my sins, who taught me to look to the Savior of the world and live in every sense of the word. I´m thankful for the Book of Mormon. How I love that book! It truly contains the words of Christ which “carry us beyond this vale of sorrow into a far better land of promise”. I know that God lives, that Jesus Christ is His son and gave His life for us, and that they have restored the gospel of the Lord, the doctrine of Christ that is perfect and unchangeable.

I love you all so much!

Until next week,
Elder Hoffman

Leave a Reply

